Operation: Network

I thought that the time between being admitted and actually moving to Ann Arbor would be pretty low-key. I have 3 months off work, and figured I would be pretty bored if not for 2 seasons of Lost, 1 season of Heroes, Super Smash Brothers Brawl, Guitar Hero, and Wii Sports.

Bragfest 2008!

However, I am trying to stay aware of exactly what lies ahead, and remember that the next two years of my life are focused on pursuing the career of my dreams. One of the ways I think it’s good to occupy your summer before b-school is updating your professional network. A nice mixture of e-mails, phone calls, and good old postal mail is appropriate, to introduce yourself to alumni, touch base with former supervisors and executives, asking their advice and informing them of your plans and goals. Brag a bit, but don’t forget to stroke egos and humbly remember those who have invested in you along the way.

And so, rocking out Even Flow, Dragonforce, and Raining Blood will have to wait, because I have a lot of people to contact!

– I mentioned my plans to my company’s CEO in the hallway, and will follow up with an email.

– Remember my HBS alum who is a local executive–the one I met with after work one day for a chat about b school? He’s getting an email for sure. We’ve been in touch once or twice since we met, and I will definitely keep that open. Eli Lilly recruits at Ross.

– I scheduled a meeting with my company’s CIO, complete with an agenda, to discuss one-on-one what his career path has been like and what advice he has for me going through school and into management.

– I noticed that one of the VPs at my undergrad institution is a Ross MBA. I emailed him to introduce myself and ask for his pointers in starting out at Ross.

– Speaking of undergrad, a fundraising letter I received from the advancement office recently was signed by the matching donor, who is a Consulting executive for IBM Global Business Solutions. You better bet I’ll be in touch with him, if I have to fly to his office, chloroform his secretary, and wait outside the door for him to return from whatever engagement he’s on. Oh, and I definitely contributed to the scholarship fund he was establishing. Fifty dollars well-spent.

– The CEO of Chemed, Inc., which is the parent company of Roto-Rooter and several other companies in Cincinnati, is a generous old man from my hometown whose foundation awarded me a lot of scholarship money for undergrad. I kept him abreast of my plans through undergrad and actually did an internship at one of his companies before moving to Indy. He’ll be getting a nice letter on expensive paper, once again thanking him for his support and updating him on my plans.

– The charitable organizations I’ve worked with in Indy will be hearing about my plans as well. One of them in particular is recognized as a premiere hunger relief organization, and is a great example of a social enterprise in action. Social enterprise management is my long-term career plan, so I’ll be reaching out to that organization.

Best Summer Ever

I can’t be ALL business, though, can I? Don’t worry. Even though I’ll be emailing and writing letters until the corn is harvested, I fully intend to have the most possible fun during my time off work this summer. This is the beginning of what I’ve got planned.

– Volunteering at the Special Olympics in my home town

– Travelling to Oklahoma to see my sister’s high school graduation

– A trip to NYC with my dad to see a game in Yankee Stadium before it closes, our hatred of the Yanks notwithstanding.

– Playing on the Brain Games, a trivia contest in my home town. My dad asked if I’d join his team.

– Finishing up my advisory council duties for a local music and arts festival

– Finishing up my United Way leadership series and board internship

****Mtrek!****

– Lollapalooza!

– Grilling out, drive-in movies, a few Indianapolis Indians games, and plenty of sleeping in!

But wait, there’s more!

All the while, Fall A will be quickly approaching, so I must stay on top of the administrative/preparatory tasks I have to take care of before school, some of which I’ve already done:

– order transcripts

– apply for loans

– enroll, set up my UofM student account

– keep my house in showing condition while I and my 4 roommates still live in it

– finalize my apartment lease in Ann Arbor

– register for m-trek

– get a new cell phone contract when I begrudgingly return the phone my employer has provided me for the past 2 years. I’m borrowing an old blackjack from my stepdad until the summer release of the iPhone 3g (I hope)!

– buy a computer

– sell a bunch of my crap that I don’t need, like my analog TV, old clothes, old computers, and furniture.

Breathe! Relax!

So it seems like a lot to do, but I’m sure it won’t be that bad. I am fully aware that 3 months off only comes along once in a lifetime (unless you are a teacher, or chronically unemployed, or a professional student). Believe you me, I WILL be fully enjoying every day. But for all of you other admits– GO FORTH AND NETWORK!

3 Responses to Operation: Network

  1. GSBsutras says:

    Hi There:
    So are you done catching up on Lost? I am hooked on to it like crazy. I have written about it on and off on my blog, but i plan to write a treatise on the character of John Locke soon.

    cheers
    Check out:

    Ji Yeon (and a bit of March Madness)

  2. Oren says:

    Which M-Trek did you end up in?

  3. Tejesh Mehta says:

    Blogger your share vary well information with us. Please Start your blog one’s again. For Management Study kindly visit Managementparadise.com where you can find all MBA, Online MBA, B-school stuff.

Leave a comment